Minnesota statute # HF3157*/SF2646/CH106: A new 2018 Minnesota law: An offender with a fake service dog will be subject to a $100 fine on the 1st offense, and for a second offense, charged with a misdemeanor which can include $1000 fine and/or 90 days in prison. Here is the text of the law, plus other laws about service dogs in Minnesota. (Courtesy of the Animal Legal and Historical Center).
Here is the text:
Minnesota Statutes Annotated. Crimes; Expungement; Victims (Ch. 609-624). Chapter 609. Criminal Code. Miscellaneous Crimes
609.833. Misrepresentation of service animal
Subdivision 1. Definitions. As used in this section:
(1) “place of public accommodation” has the meaning given in section 363A.03, subdivision 34; and
(2) “service animal” has the meaning given in Code of Federal Regulations, title 28, section 36.104, as amended through March 1, 2018.
Subd. 2. Prohibited conduct. A person may not, directly or indirectly through statements or conduct, intentionally misrepresent an animal in that person's possession as a service animal in any place of public accommodation to obtain any rights or privileges available to a person who qualifies for a service animal under state or federal law knowing that the person is not entitled to those rights or privileges.
Subd. 3. Penalty. (a) Except as provided in paragraph (b), a person who violates subdivision 2 is guilty of a petty misdemeanor.
(b) A person who violates subdivision 2 a second or subsequent time is guilty of a misdemeanor.
Subd. 4. Notice. (a) A conspicuous sign may be posted in a location accessible to public view in a place of public accommodation that contains the following, or substantially similar, language:
“NOTICE Service Animals Welcome. It is illegal for a person to misrepresent an animal in that person's possession as a service animal.”
(b) The Council on Disability may prepare and make available to businesses a brochure detailing permissible questions a business owner may ask to determine whether an animal is a service animal, proper answers to those questions, and guidelines defining unacceptable behavior.
Laws 2018, c. 106, § 2, eff. Aug. 1, 2018.